You’re Always a Lotus to Me

There are droplets of love

Raining down on you

Even when you think that river has run dry

We’re a union, a harmony

Can you see it?

There are always stars in the sky

Even when we’re bathed in daylight

 

You’ve been a dysfunctional mess

You’ve been a grain of quicksand

You’ve been a cold shoulder

And a shoulder to cry or lean on

A storm that self-destructs

In order to start over

You’re always a lotus to me

 

I can carry your heart when it’s heavy

I can catch your petals when they fall

I can keep the door open

When you forget your key

You’ve always retaught me how to fly

When life forces me into a crawl

 

There are craters

On the surface of every moon

Guitar strings and pencils

Break like bones

Paper tears like skin

There is no ending

To beginning again

 

You’ve been a headache

The cause of somebody’s heartbreak

The blood on the sheets

You’ve also fixed hearts

Including your own

You’ve been a hurricane

Coming and going, sometimes too quickly

You’re always a lotus to me

 

You can be a crybaby

You can be a demigod

You can kill the spark

You can light the candle

You can run away from the truth

You can be one step closer to it

You can be the mud and water

The angel and demon

The most loved and hated name

You’re always a lotus to me

Leave a comment