If Only I Started Getting Therapy As a Child

As soon as I finally escape from a depressive episode,

You plunge me right back in

I go from a ball of joy

To a tangled tumbleweed of anxiety

Drowning in this stressful environment

It’s hard to breathe

And you can be hard to love

Cinderella isn’t even my favorite Disney princess

Yet here I am, constantly relating to her

I didn’t ask to be born

Definitely didn’t ask to be born into this

I love you, but sometimes I can’t stand you

Of course, there are some things you can’t help

But there are plenty that you do purposely

I’m practically raising my mother

Before I even have kids of my own

I’m the eldest daughter

And brokenhearted

Tired in every way possible

Call me strong

Call me sweet and kind

Call me brave and resilient

It’s still traumatic

This pain is a part of me

That barely anyone sees

Leave a comment